Seattle

I had a lot of fun in Seattle. I did some more brewery hopping, some more Couchsurfing, and geeked out at the EMP/SF Museum.

I went to The Pike Brewing and had a couple of beers and a delicious meat & cheese plate.
If I recall correctly, the cheeses and meats were made/cured locally in Seattle and surrounding areas:

I went brewery hopping with one of my Couchsurfing hosts, who was willing to drive around in the rain. However, I didn’t think to take pictures until we got to Georgetown Brewing. They gave us free tasters!
And they have an awesome, automated growler filler!

My favorite part about Seattle was seeing the Battlestar Galactica exhibit at the Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum. AMAAAZZZIING.

Glowing Cylon raider

The whole museum was awesome. Definitely a must-see. EMP allows you to play and record your own music, and you can take home a CD of yourself. There was also a great section with interviews with various entertainers about how entertainment and media has changed them and our society. My favorite interview was with Nichelle Nichols, who played Uhura on Star Trek. It’s great hearing about the intersectionality of gender and race…

The SF part of the museum was also great. Here’s the weapons section… Can you spot the bat’leth?

Klingon weapons

And I will leave you with a picture of a bizarre creature:

The majestic geoduck

Leave a Reply

