365 days of crafting

On June 4, 2007, Noah Scalin posted, “I’m making a skull a day for a year“, and then proceeded to do just that. In October 2008, a book featuring 150 images from the project was published.

In December 9, 2010, Scalin published 365: A Daily Creative Journal: Make Something Every Day and Change Your Life!, a paperback book that offers prompts to kickstart your own 365 days of creativity.

This is something I’ve been “meaning” to do but have never gotten around to, and it’s a shame how a lot of people are like me, in that respect. Last year, my new year’s resolution was to sew or alter a thing a week. That’s 52 things a year. I never got around to starting it. 365 things a year?? That’s insanity.

But this book has prompts to help you choose your theme, how to keep yourself motivated throughout the year, and examples of other artists who tried and succeeded. For $10 on Amazon, it sounds like it wouldn’t be a waste to pick up, if you’re like me and having a hard time motivating yourself to get excited and make things.

However, I think I’d rather save up for a couple of crafting and foodie books, like these two:
Sublime Stitching
The Brewmaster’s Table

(I’m not gonna lie, though: most of the books in my shopping cart are sci-fi/fantasy, linguistics, and gender studies books.)

And if you’re a photographer, here’sĀ Project 365: Photo-a-day for you.

Leave a Reply

